What's new

University Paper

DylanChambers

Hi, guys, I'm a student from Portland State University and I'm working on a research paper. The primary objective of my paper is to learn more about what Scientology really is away from social stigma. I would very much like to interview somebody who would be able to tell me about their experiences and beliefs regarding Scientology. If you would like I can keep all names, and personal information 100% anonymous. If you are interested please just let me know and we can work out an interview situation that you feel 100% comfortable with.

Dulloldfart

Squirrel Extraordinaire
The primary objective of my paper is to learn more about what Scientology really is away from social stigma.
I don't understand "away from social stigma". My thoughts are:

You're not going to learn what Scientology really is from just one person. One person here might be very bitter and have rejected everything to do with it; another might still be in its thrall to some extent and think it's mostly wonderful but it got taken over by an evil man and hence became corrupt; one might have been involved for 30 or 60 years; one might only have surface experience; et cetera.

If it fits in with your parameters you might want to post a list of questions (6-10 -ish). You may well find several people here willing to answer them. If someone gives non-representative answers they'll get jumped on by the rest of us, so you can be fairly well assured you're getting accurate enough information in general.

Paul

DylanChambers

Hi guys, I decided to take your advice and post the questions here:

How did you first get involved with the church?
How often have/did you felt segregated because of the public view of Scientology?
What are your feelings about the claim that Scientology is a "cult"?
While in the church did you face judgment from Christians, Muslims, or others from "mainstream" religions? If so please explain how you felt or what events happened?